The Saint-Petersburg Paper Mill
Branch of «GOZNAK»
| Eng

About Paper Mill

History

The history of the Saint-Petersburg Paper Mill of Goznak started in 1818 when the Expedition of Storing State Papers was founded under the Decree of Emperor Alexander I. The new enterprise was designed to manufacture assignation paper and all other kinds with the State Coat of Arms.

Lieutenant General Augustine de Betancourt (1758 1824) was entrusted with projecting and building the Expedition of Storing State Papers. Well-grounded in all technical manufactures Lieutenant General Augustine de Betancourt, of Spanish origin, a well-known engineer and architect and one of the best-educated people of the time, a graduate of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Madrid, developed the plan of creating of a new production site uniting the manufacture of paper and printing works for printing assignations and other state papers under the request of D.A. Guriev, Minister of Finance.

On March 4, 1816 Betancourt presented a plan of arrangement of a new production site. Alexander I approved it with his resolution Let it be so.

In two years a small town was built; a building of the paper mill, printing works, mechanic, engraving, numbering and mold workshops, a directorate, apartments for the managers and barracks for the workers were located within its territory. The establishment was conveyed to the Ministry of Finance.

At that time the papermaking process was very long and labour-consuming. The manual production prevailed, hemp was the major raw material. It was swingled, soaked in water, boiled, formed on a special grid, dried and pressed into sheets. To produce watermarks, special grids with engraved stamps were fixed to the paper molds. Assignations, armorial documents, banknotes, postage stamps, promissory notes, share certificates and other products with watermarks were printed on such paper. At that time the Expedition was the only enterprise in Russia that not only produced paper but also used it in its own printing production.

y the 1830s the Expedition started publishing books, albums, art reproductions and postage stamps.

The Expedition of Storing State Papers soon became the best printing works equipped with the most perfect machinery of the time, cutting-edge technologies, and highly-qualified specialists. Outstanding scientists, inventors, artists employed at the Expedition took an active part in its creation and development.

B.S. Jakobi created at the Expedition of Storing State Papers the first electrotype workshop for copying copper clichés, V.M. Kepler drew the sketch of the first Russian postage stamp, I.I. Orlov invented the famous Orlovs printing, G.N. Skamoni created the first device for counterfeited banknote detection, a wonderful artist R.G. Zarrin The list of those whose efforts contributed to the creation of the famous technical and artistic school of the Expedition of Storing State Papers can be continued for a long time.

The Expeditions successes were awarded with high prizes at foreign exhibitions many times. In 1872 the enterprise received the gold medal for the art of creating watermarks at the World Exhibition in London. In 1878 in Paris the Expedition was awarded with a gold medal for printing art. At the World Exhibition of 1879 in Vienna the Russian masters received a Honorary Diploma for their achievements in the graphic field. And in 1891 in Moscow the Enterprise was awarded with an Acknowledge Certificate For exemplary works in the fields of heliogravure, chrome halftone engraving and zincography.

At the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries the Expedition faced considerable changes. Many workshops were enlarged and re-equipped, a new water station was built, the engraving and artistic production was created. A project of publishing books for the people was realized in creative co-operation with Ivan Yakovlevich Bilibin, a famous Russian artist. Manual production of paper with some paintings by Vasnetsov and Aivasovskiy reproduced in watermarks were a miracle of real art. These and other artistic products were sold at the Expeditions own shops in the territory of the Paper Mill and in Nevskiy prospect, 19.

A theater was built at the Expedition at the same time, a library was opened. The Primary school for the workers children was reorganized and became a 9-year school with three technical classes.

In 1918 the Expedition of Storing State Papers was moved to Moscow. The major part of the equipment and all departments of the Expedition not engaged in paper production were also moved. Many workers of the enterprise also moved to Moscow. On July 6, 1919 the People's Commissariat of Finance of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic approved the provision about Management of Factories of Storing State Papers (Goznak).

The whole paper production of the former Expedition of Storing State Papers remained in Fontanka 144. The enterprise was first called the Petrograd Factory of Storing State Papers, then the Leningrad Paper Mill of Goznak. In 1995 under the Order of the Minister of Finance of the Russian Federation the enterprise was called the Saint-Petersburg Paper Mill of Goznak.

Till July 2006 the Saint-Petersburg Paper Mill of Goznak was one of the 8 enterprises incorporated in Association Goznak the largest organization created for the production of money and protection of state papers against counterfeiting.

On July 12, 2006 the state registration of Federal State Unitary Enterprise Goznak (Goznak) took place. Since July 12, 2006 all the 8 enterprises of Association Goznak have become Branches of Goznak and have been operating as a unitary enterprise.

In the 20th century the demand of special sorts of paper has increased considerably. Goznak operates actively at both the Russian and the international markets of security products manufacturers. The enterprise competes and often wins international tenders for the supply of banknote paper. The Saint-Petersburg Paper Mill executes important orders for the production of banknote paper for the countries of the Latin America, Middle and Far East, South-Eastern Asia, Africa and Europe, Eastern Europe as well as the CIS countries.

Санкт-Петербургская бумажная фабрика

О фабрике

Исторические страницы

Санкт-Петербургская бумажная фабрика Гознака ведет свою историю с1818 года, когда по указу императора Александра I была создана Экспедиция Заготовления Государственных Бумаг (ЭЗГБ). Новое предприятие было призвано производить как ассигнационную бумагу, так и «все прочие с государственным гербом».

Проектирование и строительство ЭЗГБ поручили генерал-лейтенанту Августину де Бетанкуру (1758-1824 гг.). «Сведущий во всех технических производствах» генерал-лейтенант Августин Бетанкур, испанец по происхождению, известный инженер-архитектор и один из самых образованных людей своего времени, выпускник Королевской академии изящных искусств в Мадриде, по просьбе министра финансов Д.А. Гурьева разработал план создания нового производства, объединившего изготовление бумаги и типографию для печатания ассигнаций и иных государственных бумаг.

4 марта 1816 года Бетанкур представил план устройства нового промышленного комплекса. Александр I утвердил план резолюцией «Быть по сему».

За два года построили небольшой город, на его территории были размещены: здание бумажной фабрики, типография, механическая, граверная, нумерационная и формная мастерские, правление, квартиры для чиновников, казармы для рабочих. Учреждение было передано в ведение Министерства Финансов.

Процесс изготовления бумаги в то время был очень длительным и трудоемким. Преобладал ручной способ производства, основным сырьем служила пенька. Ее трепали, мочили в воде, вываривали, формовали на специальной сетке, сушили и запрессовывали в листы. Для изготовления водяного знака на черпальные формы нашивали специальные сетки с выгравированными штемпелями. На такой бумаге печатали ассигнации, гербовую документацию, кредитные билеты, почтовые марки, векселя, акции и другую продукцию с водяным знаком. Экспедиция в то время – единственное предприятие в России, где не только делали бумагу, но и использовали ее в собственном полиграфическом производстве.

К тридцатым годам XIX века Экспедиция приступила к выпуску книг, альбомов, репродукций картин и почтовых марок.

ЭЗГБ скоро стала лучшей в России типографией, располагающей самым совершенным на тот момент оборудованием, передовыми технологиями, высококвалифицированными специалистами. Огромную роль в создании и развитии предприятия сыграли выдающиеся ученые, изобретатели, художники, работавшие в Экспедиции.

Б.С. Якоби, создавший в ЭЗГБ первую в мире гальванопластическую мастерскую для размножения медных клише, В.М. Кеплер, нарисовавший эскиз первой русской почтовой марки, И.И. Орлов, изобретатель знаменитого «орловского раската», Г.Н. Скамони, создавший первый прибор для распознавания фальшивых банкнот, великолепный художник Р. Г. Заррин… Список тех, чьими усилиями была создана знаменитая техническая и художественная школы ЭЗГБ, можно продолжать долго.

Успехи Экспедиции неоднократно отмечались высокими наградами на зарубежных выставках. В 1872 году предприятие получило золотую медаль за искусство изготовления водяного знака на Всемирной выставке в Лондоне. В 1878 году в Париже Экспедиции вручили золотую медаль за полиграфическое искусство. На Всемирной выставке 1879 года, проходившей в Вене, русские мастера удостоились Почетного диплома за заслуги в области графики. А в 1891 году в Москве предприятие было награждено Благодарственной грамотой «За образцовые произведения в области гелиогравюры, хромоавтотипии и цинкографии».

На рубеже 19-20 вв. в жизни Экспедиции произошли значительные изменения. За короткое время были расширены и переоборудованы многие мастерские, построена новая водостанция, создано граверно- художественное производство. В творческом содружестве с известным русским художником Иваном Яковлевичем Билибиным реализован проект по выпуску книг для народного чтения. Чудом подлинного искусства являлось изготовление ручным способом бумаги, на которой водяными знаками были воспроизведены некоторые картины Васнецова и Айвазовского. Эти и другие художественные изделия Экспедиция продавала в собственных магазинах на территории фабрики и на Невском,19.

В это же время был построен собственный театр, открыта библиотека. Начальная школа для детей рабочих и служащих преобразована в 9 – летнюю, с тремя техническими классами.

В 1918 году ЭЗГБ была переведена в Москву. Туда же были перебазированы основная часть оборудования и все «небумажные» отделения Экспедиции. В Москву переехали и многие кадровые работники предприятия. 6 июля 1919 года Народный комиссариат финансов РСФСР утвердил положение об Управлении фабриками заготовления государственных бумаг (Гознак).

На Фонтанке, 144 осталось все бумажное производство бывшей ЭЗГБ. Предприятие называлась Петроградской фабрикой заготовления государственных знаков, потом Ленинградской бумажной фабрикой Гознака. В 1995 году Приказом министра финансов Российской Федерации предприятие стало называться Санкт- Петербургской бумажной фабрикой Гознака.

До июля 2006 года Санкт-Петербургская бумажная фабрика Гознака входила в число 8 предприятий Объединения «Гознак» – крупнейшей организации, созданной для выпуска денег и защиты государственных бумаг от подделок.

12 июля 2006 года состоялась государственная регистрация Федерального государственного унитарного предприятия «Гознак» (ФГУП «Гознак»). С 12 июля 2006 года все восемь предприятий Объединения «Гознак» становятся филиалами ФГУП «Гознак» и работают как единое предприятие.

19 мая 2016 года завершена процедура реорганизации путем преобразования федерального государственного унитарного предприятия в акционерное общество «Гознак», 100 % акций  которого принадлежат государству.

АО «Гознак» активно работает не только на российском, но и на международном рынке производителей защищенной продукции. Предприятие участвует и часто побеждает в международных тендерах на поставку ассигнационной бумаги. Санкт-Петербургская бумажная фабрика - филиал АО «Гознак» выполняет ответственные заказы по изготовлению банкнотной бумаги для стран латинской Америки, Ближнего и Дальнего Востока, Юго-Восточной Азии, Африки и Европы, Восточной Европы, а также стран СНГ.